Burning Glass Series by Kathryn Purdie

Burning Glass Series by Kathryn Purdie

Burning Glass Series by Kathryn Purdie

(Burning Glass, Crystal Blade, Frozen Reign (Nov 2018))

Rating: (4 / 5)

Genre: YA Fantasy

Content: Empire, Kingdom Conflict, Gifted Humans


Synopsis: In the empire of Riaznin, Auraseers like Sonya are the protectors of the emperor. They are able to sense and feel emotions of others, including bloodlust, which makes them to ultimate body guard. When the empress is murdered in a tragic accident, Sonya is brought to the palace to become Sovereign Auraseer to the charming emperor. However, Sonya has always had a hard time controlling her powers and often has a hard time distinguishing her own feelings from those of others. When a growing rebellion forces Sonya to pick sides, the emperor or his handsome yet closed off brother, she realises she may be the only one who can save the empire. Or will she become its greatest threat?


I thoroughly enjoyed reading these books and am super sad that I have to wait until November to read the next book! (This is why I have not chosen a favorite of the series as I usually do)

One of my favorite aspects was, shocker, character development! I know, I know. I talk about this way too much. But I find it to be one of the most important parts of a book for me. If the characters are dull and there is no growth or complexity, I lose interest very quickly. The emperor is surprisingly one of my favorite characters because of the authors development of him. My feelings about him change quite a bit throughout the two books so far. Him and the aspect of tyranny in this series really made it an interesting read.

Sonya, our main character, was also a very interesting point of view to read. The fact that she cannot distinguish her feelings from others a lot of the time was very intriguing. I was constantly guessing about whether she was feeling for herself or being overcome with the feelings of those around her. I enjoyed the fact that she isn’t your typical strong-willed heroine. She goes through her challenges and isn’t always able to remain strong. I felt like this made the story a lot more realistic, as we are not always able to handle what’s thrust upon us in life.

The impending war between the empire and the rebellion is an exciting part of this series for me. The people are feeling oppressed and mistreated, but the nobility is happy with how things are because they are the ones who are benefiting from the empire. This is a great dynamic and I can’t wait to see where the author takes the story.

I would absolutely recommend this series. I’m really liking the books so far and am so excited to read the next book once it comes out! Stay tuned lovelies.

Leave a Reply

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.