Throne of Glass Series by Sarah J Maas

Throne of Glass Series by Sarah J Maas

Throne of Glass Series by Sarah J Maas

(Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight, Heir of Fire, Queen of Shadows, Empire of Storms, Tower of Dawn, Kingdom of Ash, The Assassin’s Blade [prequel])

Rating: (5 / 5)

Genre: YA Fantasy

Content: Assassins, War, Supernatural, Faeries, Magic

Favorites of the series: Heir of Fire & Empire of Storms


Synopsis: Calaena Sardothien is best known as Adarlan’s Assassin. She has spent her life learning and training to become the best. But once she is imprisoned in one of the kingdom’s most brutal salt mines, she goes off the grid. Some think she’s dead. But when a mysterious prince comes to give her an offer, her whole life will change. Stay in the salt mines, or become the kings champion – the one to deal with his dirty work and get rid of anyone he orders to death. She quickly becomes engrossed in a world full of politics, danger, and unknown ancient forces. Will she survive, or will it prove to be too much for even the best assassin to handle?


I have been absolutely dying to review this series for you all. It is one of the best, well written books I’ve ever read. The plot line is so intricate and wonderful, I have no words! There are constantly different plot twists and I absolutely love how surprised I was at every turn. The pacing of these books are so fantastic – they’re perfect! I can’t even say enough good things about this series and of course they’re by one of my favorite authors. So, let’s get into it!

Our main heroine, Celaena, is one of my favorite female protagonists of all time. She is Adarlan’s assassin. One of the most well-known assassins in the kingdom. She is bold and brave and such a badass woman I can’t even begin to tell you. She has been enslaved by the king for about a year, working in the salt mines. She has managed to survive the rough conditions and still has that raging spirit left in her. The background of her story, which I cannot get into in order to avoid spoilers, is to complex and really well done. You learn more and more about her and her past with every book. The author does a great job of developing her character.

Next is the plot twists – which are amazing and obviously I cannot reveal them to you. But I can’t say enough about how much this series surprised me and made me have to put the book down for a second just to recover and find my composure. The author does a great job of maintaining interest and I swear there’s a plot twist in every single book of the series. Yes, there’s a ton of books in the series. But they were all so different and special in their own way that I never found myself getting bored of reading them. I whipped through the first book in a couple of days and the rest of the series (excluding the last one as I had to wait for it to come out) in a matter of weeks. I couldn’t seem to put them down and was dying to read the next one whenever I finished another.

The universe. Oh my goodness y’all – the universe Sarah J. Maas creates is just so beautiful and wonderful. The history, the places, the storylines. It’s really fantastic, just as it is in ACOTAR series (my other favorite). She spent so much time really creating this fantasy world. Rumors of how magic used to be around and all of the sudden was outlawed and unavailable to those who once wielded it. The rulers and diplomats. The politics of it all. Really, it’s so enjoyable to read and get to know and love the different lands in this series. They’re also very descriptive and well written. Sarah’s writing style just blows me away every time I read something written by her.

I would highly recommend this series to all age groups. It’s appropriate enough for young adults, but still has enough going on and mature content that it’s a great read for adults as well. Go pick it up at your local book store, now!

Leave a Reply

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.